BP board launches search for new chairman

30 October 2017

BP Chairman Carl-Henric Svanberg has informed the company’s board of directors of his intention to retire. Mr Svanberg will chair the annual general meeting to be held in May 2018 and will remain in position until a successor is in post.

Ian Davis, the BP board’s senior independent director, will now lead the process to identify and appoint BP’s next chairman.

Mr Svanberg joined the BP board on 1 September 2009 and became chairman on 1 January 2010.